In March 2008, I got this idea. A small idea, but one that nagged at me for months.

I had just finished traveling with my boyfriend of three years through Asia for the first few months of 2008. We spent some time with my family, sometime alone (together and apart), when I realized life was just better when I was with Mr M. It had never occurred to me to sit around and wait for him to realize it; I just had to tell him how much I loved him and how much I loved being with him.

But how?

That’s when something magical happened; I discovered Etsy. Suddenly, a world of possibility! Slowly, piece by piece my plan came into fruition. I purchased a set of unfinished nesting (matroyshka) dolls from WhittleWorld. I began to sketch and plan out what I was going to paint on the beautiful wooden canvas. Turns out coming up with how to ask it was a bit harder, though.

