This 10.04 carat Lussori engagement ring can be yours for a mere $495,000

This 10.04 carat Lussori engagement ring can be yours for a mere $495,000

I have to admit that before I considered proposing marriage, I didn’t know much about the wedding industry.

I had no idea that the average cost of a wedding is $17,300 in Canada (source: WeddingBells.ca survey; not sure on the science behind that) which blew my mind. I really didn’t know that many things I considered extras or special were considered standard by many in the wedding world (for example: videography, photobooths, having a band, a Saturday ceremony and reception).

Then, such is life, once I got the idea of a proposal in my head, I started to pay more attention to the words “wedding” or “marriage” in stories at work (I’m a photo editor, and see a lot of news stories and photos in a day.)

My personal favourites have been stories from American press that somehow tie the relevancy of the recession into everyday life, such as a woman’s wedding. It’s a reality many are dealing with, but I’m still surprised at how the writers choose to handle it at times.

For instance, the LA Times has a story today (in their biz section, no less) on how couples are cutting back in their wedding plans. Good story, right? However, after a closer read, I’ve chosen to digest the story as people are just making more sensible decisions and not going insane when they get a ring on their finger and hemorrhaging cash.

Instead of having a horse and carriage: save money for the down payment on the house they’re making together. Don’t want to spend NINE DOLLARS on a single invite set? I for one am shocked, but the story says that it might save some serious coin. You don’t say!

My favourite is this one, though:

Instead of hiring a DJ, “now we’re hearing of couples just throwing on their own mix tapes.” (says Rae Harrington, director of creative content at Here Comes The Guide, a wedding planning resource)

WTF. When’s the last time anyone made YOU a mix tape (besides tinymixtapes or the sorely missed muxtapes?) Is it just me, or is this source kind of out of touch? One of the best weddings I went to in the last year was one where an iPod played music for guests, and it wasn’t really cut save money, but a conscious decision stemming out of necessity since their wedding was in the mountains. And guess what: they’re notthe only coupledoing it so it kind of irritates me that the article makes it sound like cheaping out. It’s just a more frugal choice that is also a bit more sensible. Not for everyone, maybe, but still a viable choice.

I guess my main issue with the story is that these aren’t corners people are choosing to cut…they are conscious decisions people are making. Basically the tips revolve around not having a platinum wedding. I’m more interested in hearing about people like Megan Turner, who recently lost her job due to changes in the housing market. Her innovative approach to the money issue:

…Turner held a garage sale with proceeds going toward her wedding (…) “If it saves us money, then I’m all for it,” she said.

More tips like this please. Less pointing out the crazy brides who are all caught up in spending their savings or going into debt to ensure they get a candy buffet AND a dancing troupe of frogs as being the norm. An $8000 wedding is still nothing to sneeze at, and you can still have a damn good party for around the same price (ie, check out 2000 dollar wedding or $10000 only)

Argh. /end diatribe.

LA Times: Couples are finding ways to cut wedding costs

